Visiting Composers

2022-23 Visiting Composers 

October 3-9, 2022 

José Halac

  • Presentation for Composers and Private Lessons

  • Concert: Sunday, October 9, 7:30 pm: NME (Sheryl Crow Hall).

November 7-11, 2022 

Maria Chávez

  • Presentation for Composers   and Workshop

  • Wednesday, November 9, 3 pm: Convocation (Sinquefield Music Center)

  • Performance: Thursday, November 10, 10 am: NME Recorded Performance (Whitmore Recital Hall)

Previous Visiting Composers:


Amy Williams (University of Pittsburgh)

Ken Thomson

Aaron Perrine


Yevgeniy Sharlat (University of Texas - Austin)

Michael Daugherty (University of Michigan)

Nina C. Young (University of Southern California)

Annika K. Socolofsky (Princeton University)



Steven Snowden (Boston, MA)

Aaron Hynds, tubist-composer  (University of Nebraska-Kearney)

James Mobberley (University of Missouri-Kansas City)

Andrew List (Berklee College of Music)

Jonathan Newman (Shenandoah Conservatory) 


Keith Fitch (Cleveland Institute of Music)

Louis Goldford (Columbia University)

Don Freund (Indiana University)

William Averitt (Shenandoah Conservatory)


David Liptak (Eastman School of Music)

Chen Yi (University of Missouri-Kansas City)

David Maslanka


Andrew List (Berklee College of Music)


Gerald Custer (Wayne State University)

Tod Machover (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)